The colonnades have always been the center of spa life. The main colonnade of Mariánské Lázně is a Neo-Baroque building from 1888-1889, which became the dominant feature of the spa promenade.
The biggest landmark of Mariánské Lázně is the main colonnade (or also the colonnade of Maxim Gorky) with a unique cast iron construction. It was built according to the projects of the Viennese architects Miksch and Niedzielski by the decision of the abbot of the monastery in Teplá. The sublime cast iron structure was cast in the Blansko ironworks, the builder was Johann Koenig. The unique building has survived almost untouched by the world wars and adorns the site of the original enclosed spa promenade. Mainly for II. World War II threatened to dismantle it so that there was enough material to make weapons.
The colonnade also boasts a unique decoration - a wooden coffered ceiling and bronze reliefs on the walls. The author of the ceiling frescoes with the motifs "The desire of man to fly" is ak. painter J. Vyleťal, who completed the work in 1979. The bronze reliefs were created by Antonín Kuchař. The name of the colonnade comes from one of its guests, the Russian writer, playwright, poet and revolutionary Maxim Gorky. Since 2010, the colonnade has become a national cultural monument.
In front of the main colonnade you will also find one of the most popular attractions of Mariánské Lázně - the Singing Fountain. In the immediate vicinity of the Main Colonnade there are the Křížový and Karolinina spring colonnades. Another beautiful building is the colonnade of Ferdinand's spring, which forms the dominant feature of the park in the lower part of the city.
The Singing Fountain was built between 1982 and 1986 during the reconstruction of the promenade by academic architect Pavel Mikšík. Impressive water patterns are made up of ten spray systems, the combination of which controls a computer.
The fountain is completely unusual in its dimensions, artistic design and functions. A 12-piece stone flower sculpture with a polished stainless steel center is set in a shallow circular pool bowl with a diameter of 18 meters. The edge of the fountain, the pool tiles and the sculpture are made of Liberec granite.
The fountain has ten basic spray systems: two are formed by three hundred and thirty nozzles of tubular rings around the perimeter of the fountain facing its center. The dominant middle spray reaches a height of six meters, four systems with several hundred nozzles point from the metal center of the sculpture to the perimeter of the fountain. From these sprays it is possible to create several dozen combinations, which change according to the set computer program that controls the fountain. The technical background is located underground under the fountain and consists of an engine room with ten pumps with a power input of 70 kW, a storage tank with a volume of 25,000 liters of water and an electrical substation. The control room with a computer is located in the colonnade.
The author of the fountain design is the academic architect Pavel Mikšík, the architectural and technical cooperation was provided by ing.arch.dr. Otakar Kuea and Pavel Janeček. The author of the first musical composition "Music for the Fountain" is the composer Petr Hapka. Other compositions by F. Chopin, W.A. Mozart, J.S. Bacha, Ch. Gounod, B. Smetana, A. Dvořák and other authors.
The Kladská nature trail in the Kladská rašeliny National Nature Reserve acquaints with the history of the Kladská settlement, the fauna and flora of the Slavkov Forest and the natural conditions of the reserve. On the 2.3 km long route, you will get to know the local fauna and flora with your own eyes.
It is one of the oldest and largest nature reserves in the Karlovy Vary region and the most valuable part of the Slavkov Forest Protected Landscape Area. It was declared in 1933 on five peat bogs around Kladská. Kladská peat bogs are a unique set of mountain upland peat bogs at altitudes from 800 to 930 m, with a total area of almost 300 ha, of which the largest peat bog is Taiga. Other peat bogs are Paterák, Lysina, Malé rašeliniště and Husí les.
A 2.3 km long nature trail passes through the peat bog and leads around the Kladské pond along the edge of the Kladské rašeliny national nature reserve in the part named Taiga. The built-in wooden route leads along an elevated footpath. There are numerous rest areas and lookout points around the perimeter. From the end of the trail, the barrier-free part is accessible mainly for wheelchairs. Walking on a nature trail does not require special clothing and is not physically demanding.
Highland peat bogs began to form here several tens of thousands of years ago in places where water was trapped in lakes. Later, in the Late Quaternary, the lakes began to overgrow with aquatic plants and later with various species of peat bogs. The peat bog is covered with a primeval forest of swamp pine (with typical plants such as sundews, drought, cranberry, etc.), the image of which is reflected on the surface of the large Kladský pond. Of the rare animals here, you can hear the capercaillie or the black stork in quiet corners. The peatland forests also suit our smallest owl, the mighty forest hawk and the forest doctor - the black woodpecker. Around 1994, our largest feline beast, the island lynx, inhabited the local forests.
Park Boheminium, Geological Park, Nature Park Prelate, Martínkův Park, Gardens of Václav Skalník, Lázeňský Park, Buková Alej.
The Orthodox Church of St. Vladimir in Mariánské Lázně was ceremoniously opened in 1902. During non-religious times, it serves the guests of Mariánské Lázně to inspect the rich interior.
In 1900–1902, the church replaced the Orthodox prayer house, which had been available in the town hall building in Mariánské Lázně since 1878. Thanks to a fundraiser initiated by local doctors and the Orthodox priest Nikolai N. Pisarevsky, the Serbian architect drew up construction plans. prof. Nikolai Vladimirovich Sultanov (1850-1908).
The construction was carried out by the well-known Franciscan spa builder Gustav Wiedermann, the author of the Orthodox churches in Františkovy Lázně and Karlovy Vary. The ground plan is based on the Greek cross, whose square center exceeds the lateral apses. The interior is dominated by a rich majolica iconostasis, originally made in Kuznetsov near Tver for the World's Fair in Paris in 1900. During World War II, the church served as a warehouse and was restored in the second half of the 20th century.
Services are held here from 10:00 every Sunday. The church is open all year round.
The church was built in 1844-1848 in a historic neo-Byzantine style. The plan of the basilica, erected on the site of the brick chapel of the Nativity of the Virgin Mary from 1820, was drawn up by architect Johann Gottfried Gutensohn from Munich, Bavaria.
The construction was carried out by the Teplá monastery architect Anton Thurner from Přimda with the help of the Prague builder and sculptor Joseph Kranner. The original bells from 1835 and 1847 by W. Sedlmayer from Planá and J. di Valle from Cheb were partially requisitioned during the First and Second World Wars.
The church was consecrated in 1848 by Abbot Heinl and in 1850 by Cardinal Archbishop B. of Schwarzenberg.
The Hamelika lookout tower is located near Mariánské Lázně. The lookout tower from 1876 stands at a height of 723 m above sea level. and is freely accessible to all who want to enjoy the view of the spa town of Mariánské Lázně, Slavkovský les or Zelená hora.
The name of the lookout tower comes from the German pronunciation of the former designation "Homolka". It is written on the old maps under the name of the Viewpoint of Francis Joseph I. The stone cylindrical tower is 20 meters high, 120 steps lead to its top. Under suitable conditions (especially in the evening), a singing fountain can be heard on the lookout tower.
The lookout tower is accessible from the city, for example, on foot (about 1.5 km) from the upper station of the Mariánka Ski Lift.